The Breeders Cup Championship

In 1982 a group of prominent thoroughbred horse breeders from Central Kentucky had a plan.  Hashed out on cocktail napkins, with a nice bourbon providing the bravado, their idea was to create a year-end, culminating championship for their sport, akin to the World Series.  An event where horses from around the globe could meet to settle the age old question, who is the best?  An event that would celebrate the best of thoroughbred horse racing.  Put it on a national platform, broadcast it around the world and help build the market for racing and breeding.  Their vision became The Breeders Cup.

That dream became a reality in 1984 when, the now defunct, Hollywood Park Race Track hosted the inaugural Breeders Cup Championships.  The location of the event changes yearly.  With the exception of 1996 when it was held at Woodbine Racetrack in Canada, all the BCC have been in the United States.  From 1984 through 2006 it was a single day event.  In 2007 as the prize money grew, more races were added, and it became a two day affair- Friday and Saturday.

This years BC is November second and third at legendary Churchill Downs.  It is the 9th time CD has hosted the event, topped only by Santa Anita, where it has been held 10 times.  Total prize money for this years races is over 30 million dollars.

Over the course of 34 years the Breeders Cup has charged to the front of the worldwide racing stage.  With 318 horses having been crowned champions, the event has transcended the sport itself.

When the fields are chosen, and post positions drawn for the races, the Daily Racing Blog will do some handicapping, and provide selections.  So come on back.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s